Heavy

In the depths of the water,
Fish disperse away
As the anchor drops down
At the point of dismay.

Sun through the window
On a brand new day.
Blanket still unfurled upon
My body, painted grey.

Looking out at the moon
As it stretches out to play
Hide-and-go-seek;
Leading me astray.

Days of heavy weight,
Come as they may,
Bring home some lessons
Like cookies on a tray.

I may be blanketed,
I may be grey.
I may think of awful things,
On a windy, rainy day.
I may let the days into
My house just to say,
That maybe I need you
To taint my heart today.

I still say thank you,
To the heavy, heavy Day.
Because I know better now
Than what I knew yesterday.
Hope flitters down on the anchor,
Because I still know how to pray.
The light can still shine through
A girl that’s painted grey.

Leave a Reply

